Reach Us At:

1215 N Von Minden St,

La Grange, TX 78945

  • White Facebook Icon

©2019 by La Grange First United Methodist Church

Single Board and Committees

Volunteers are a very important part of the ministry here at First United Methodist Church. Laity refers to any member of the congregation that is not an ordained Pastor. Our Lay Leadership is very dedicated to the mission of our church. Here we have a list of our Single Board and all our committees and those who currently serve on them. There is also a brief description the committees responsibilities and role.

Single Board Members

Chairperson: Bruce Dopslauf

Church Treasurer: Jim Otto

Board of Trustees Chairperson: Carol Martyr

Staff- Parish Relations Committee Chairperson: Larry Hatfield 

Senior Pastor: Andy Smith

Single Board Members: Charlie Learned, Larry Nickel, Angela Adkins, Peggy Brisgill, Jeff Parker, Diana Wilson

Lay Leader: Ed Murphy

1st Lay Member of Annual Conference: Marie Allen

2nd Lay Member to Annual Conference: Billie Ayres


With our new Single Board, we have combined the Board of Trustees, Staff- Parish Relations Committee (SPRC), and Finance Committees to create a more efficient way of governing our church business.  

Council Of Ministries: This committee meets with all heads of ministries throughout the church and brings news and needs to the single board for action. Members are Marie Allen, Kellie Bretz, Ed Murphy, Heidi Stone, Kari Willrich, Nancy Hajek, and Billie Ayres.

Nominations and Lay Development Committee: The Charge of this Committee is to identify, develop, deploy, evaluate and monitor Christian spiritual leadership for the local Congregation. Members are Andy Smith, Ed Murphy, Bruce Dopslauf, Marie Allen, Bill Koenig, Dave Conner, Heidi Stone, Debra Hall, Brad Cutright, and Andy Watson.

Worship Committee: The main charge of the Worship Committee is to work on all things dealing with worship. They meet with the Pastor, the Music Director and other key Worship participants to plan meaningful and inspirational Worship opportunities throughout the year. Members are Mary Ann Hatfield, Kari Willrich, Andy Smith, Nancy Hajek, Heidi Stone, and Jan Jenkins.

FUMC, La Grange Foundation: The FUMC Foundation was established by this congregation in 1997. For members and friends, it creates the opportunity to make charitable gifts that will permanent endowed funds to promote and enhance the church’s ministry and Mission. Some of these funds are used for Scholarships given each year for higher education and others are given to other non-budgeted purposes the Church Council approves. Members are Bob Field, Heidi Stone, David Jenkins, and Patsy Parker.